Sunday, August 30, 2015

Jon Snow is Not a Twin (SPOILERS ALL BOOKS)

So I hate the the TV A Game of Thrones about as much as anyone who has read the books and understands how money grubbing scumbags in the media industry don't give a shit about fans does. And I hate show watcher theories on how it will all end or happen SOSOSO much because they just google theories that are just book based and blow it up ad act fucking stupid, and then you have 80 people reporting it and blowing up my newsfeed with garbage.

Jon Snow is not Meera Reeds goddamned twin.

The basis for this theory is that the actors look similar and they are the same age.

AND THAT'S PRETTY MUCH THE ONLY SUBSTANTIAL EVIDENCE. The show watchers never even mention Howland Reed. I think part of the original, old as fuck theory which was long ago debunked that this was based on, at least tries to work in Ned and Howland's friendship and the comradery  between the Cragnome and the Starks.

Why it's not true:
Besides the fact that it's stupid and has really no bearing on the story so why make the theory...
The Starks and the Reeds are both Northern families. They are all most likey decendants of The First Men and all lived in the area on their own until the founding of Winterfell and the rise of the Stark family. Through alliance marriages and just fucking living in the same place and being from the same people, NO SHIT THEY BOTH HAVE BROWN HAIR. But Meera has the Cragno green eyes. Jon has gray eyes. Meera is incredibly short for her age, much like her father who was unnaturally short, as are many Cragnomen. They're both good fighters...because Jon was trained with a fucking sword and Meera's family is big on hunting and spearing.

There are no similarities between the two. There is no reason for them to be twins. There is no plot point that can be helped by this because the characters are on vastly different arcs and are unlikely to meet. Meera has shown no ability to warg, no dragon dreams, no green dreams, and no prophesies or visions concern her. There is NOTHING linking the two other than their fathers' friendship and living in the same region. And I guess Bran.




Wednesday, August 26, 2015

Hey! My buddy from Dragonball Z wrote and directed a short film! He's a pretty dope dude, and it's called "Opal White"! SO, if you're into like DBZ or Hetalia or something else Eric's done, you should check out his work!

Monday, August 24, 2015

MTG: The Quest for the Perfect Deck!

I've been playing Magic for several years now. I suck ass at it, but I love it. My best friend is super into it, and always wanted me to learn it someday so we could play. So once he moved away, I started learning how to play so that when we visited, I could surprise him!

But even so, my decks always suck. I got the Gatecrash box and we put together an okay deck from that. But I don't have a theme. So, I've been tossing around some ideas.


  • BEARS
  • Vampires...unsure of red/black or mono black. But I feel as though it's cliched. I didn't like the zombie decks though and I like NORMAL non sparkly vampires. We'll see.
  • Dragons! But then I found out there were 8 billion dragon decks and the cards get rather pricey... 
  • Game of Thrones deck! Like if I can't do just dragons then maybe dragons and soldier type things. Still...still working that out..because it seems pretty stupid.
  • Elf deck. For Legolas and his elf eyes.
  • Leviathan deck. The problem is that a lot of sample decks I find are really lame and I don't like the cards. I'm really into Kaiju and Lovecraftian spooklies so...idk.
  • Mermaid deck. Is this possible? IDK. I actually haven't checked. But I'm fond of blue or green decks so it's no something I wouldn't use.
  • Angels and Demons deck. For all my cliched unholiness.

  • GOAT DECK BECAUSE THATS A THING I CAN JUST HAVE GOATS. FUCK YOU. GOAT ATTACK.

So now that I'm employed. Again. For now. Hopefully for a while. Uh, hopefully in a bit I can have the money to really go for some cards and make a sweet deck. Meanwhile, my best friend is using his new teacher's salary to replace his decks with holographic cards only. He's so crazy and amazing. I hate playing with his decks because he knows exactly which card I'm playing based on how much mana I tap, and I feel so lame losing to him time after time. I can beat other people just fine! I'm not bad. But against someone who is like...God tier in the MTG world... I just pale in comparison Q___Q 





Wednesday, August 19, 2015

Two Movies Where The Sun Kills People (uh...Spoiler)

Hi and today on "I couldn't think of an inventive title but who cares", I've watched some shitty movies lately and I just want to talk about them.

Now first off is the movie Sunshine. Now...I love the premise! I love the acting! The whole first part is really awesome! You have my future husband Chris Evans as an asshole, Cillian Murphy as a smart guy, and other actors who have IMDB pages. Basically, the sun is dying and Earth is in a solar winter, and the crew of the Icarus II are out to detonate a bomb in the sun to restart it and save the world. The first time this was attempted, the ship Icarus I randomly lost contact with the Earth and everyone was presumed dead from an unknown accident. But Icarus II picks up on the distress beacon of the lost Icarus I and they go to take it's bomb as a back up, and to take their supplies to ensure they can make it back home alive.

And then it turns shit. It becomes a slasher film. People start dying left and right for accidental reasons, like the Captain getting burned alive outside the ship during a maintenance operation, and the ships greenhouse catching fire so that they won't have enough oxygen to make it to the sun. People die while trying to get supplies from Icarus I, a survivor on that ship escapes onto II, and from there he goes batshit insane even more. He's sure that humans are defying God by trying to restart the sun and wants to stop the mission. He kills everyone but Cillian Murphy, who manages to detonate the bomb payload and sees time or some shit.

Look, I love Danny Boyle, but this isn't that great of a film. It is really good at building tension...some of the times. Not all. And a lot of the emotional moments and drama are depending on relationships between characters that we don't feel invested in. It doesn't have any of those heart string moments. I hate to compare it to Interstellar, but Interstellar did a brilliant job emotionally connecting you to every character, even if we didn't know them for very long. Sunshine just tosses you in and says "okay, ACTION." The really only emotional scene is near the end when Murphy detonates the payload and its playing the tense music and you watch him sweat and cry as he struggles in the heat and knowing that he's humanities singular hope at this point. This movie always falls flat for me and every time I watch it, I think "Wow...that was still disappointing."

But do you know what movie was exactly the spectacular shitshow I was hoping for?

KNOWING.




So...there is no good way to start off talking about this movie except to take a deep breath and say "This is one of THOSE Nic Cage movies, and it involves psychics, possibly aliens, bunnies, and smooth pebbles." I don't even think I can discuss the story in a calm and intellectual manner so lets just roll with it.

The movie starts with some weird ass girl who starts hearing shit, so she writes down a stream of fucking numbers on a piece of paper to put in a time capsule before clawing her fingernails off in a closet and being Silent Hill Child levels of "creepy little girl". On to the present day (in 2009) where Nic Cage's son who I will call Son is at the opening of the time capsule and gets Silent Hill child's number sheet, and his friends make fun of him. Son steals the number sheet like a fucking degenerate and Nic Cage is angry with him. While gazing angrily at the numbers sheet, Nic has  moment that would make Jim Carrey from The Number 23 proud, and picks out the day and death total of fucking 9/11. Idk maybe it's because he was in that firefighter movie about 9/11. THEN HE DECIDES TO RESEARCH EVERY NUMBER COMBINATION IN ONE NIGHT...and figures out that most of the numbers are dates and exact death counts of major accidents that happened over the past 50 years.

He doesn't know what all the extra numbers mean, BUT I'M SURE THATS FINE SO HE GOES AND TELLS HIS FRIEND AT MIT ABOUT IT BECAUSE THAT'S WHAT YA DO WHEN YOU GET A PROPHESY PAPER FROM A TIME CAPSULE.
????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????
3 dates haven't happened yet. One of those days is herpaderp that very daaay! But no one has died yet so Nic Cage goes to investigate. While on a drive, a fucking plane crashes next to the road while he's stuck in traffic, while he has a GPS that shows him his position and realizes that the extra numbers are the Lat and Long of where the death toll will happen. He runs into the plane wreckage...to...help... because that's logical! And FUCKIGN SURVIVORS ARE RUNNING AROUNFso from there, at some point a creepy Slender Man type fellow gives Son a smooth rock. Okay. Later he visits Son and in his room, and Son, lacking the concept of stranger danger, obeys and looks out the window as Slender Man shows his the forest and CGI moose running around on fire. Son screams and Nic Cage chases Slender Man through the woods with a baseball bat. So the next accident is gonna happen in the New York subway, so Nic tries to tell the authorities and they're like "okay, aren't you the fellow who stole the Declaration of Independence?" and they set up a trap for him. Nic goes there anyways....because I guess he REALLY NEEDED TO MAKE SURE HIS PAPER WAS RIGHT IDK and he helps the police catch a man stealing DVDs and then the subway crashes and kills however many people the paper said. So Nic decides to be a creep and tracks down the daughter of Silent Hill Child. The movie becomes very distracting because she's the mom from Insidious. So I'm calling her Insidious Mom. He interrogates Ms. Insidious and she's like "yeah my mom was bonkers and heard voices and sometimes wrote letters backwards so maybe the things that are clearly NOT the number 33 are the letters EE. And maybe that means EVERYONE ELSE see my mom wrote all over her mobile home in the woods." Also Nic discovers that solar flares are causing the latest accidents and that a solar flare will kill the Earth. Okay. So Insidious Mom thinks they should go to the caves and Nic thinks they should go to the coordinates where the EE is going to happen, and the kids reveal that they're hearing voices too. It's a mess. Mom kidnaps the children, only to get carjacked and killed at a gas station, and eventually he just fucking goes to the mobile home. It's surrounded by smooth rocks. He follows the rocks and finds his son in the woods. His son has a bunny. He says its his friend. Slender Man is there too. He also has friends, but they are not bunnies. Insidious Mom's daughter also has a bunny. they tell Nic Cage that they're going away on a spaceship but Nic can't come because he stole the Declaration of Independence and so the Slender Men take the kids and their bunnies away to an Earth-like planet with a magical tree, and Nic Cage drives into the city as a solar flares burns everything.

I highly recommend that over Sunshine because it's so fucking weird and funny and I'm not sure why this had to happen. It's so bonkers. I can't deal with it. Go watch it while you turn up.

Wednesday, August 12, 2015

Personal Post

Yeah so I wanted this blog to be a bit more "formal". Like actually talking about things. My other blogs elsewhere are where I'm like completely bonkers but since I used to write for a few online publications in my college days and a small series on my shit-blog was gaining a fair deal of traction, I started this to present educated looks at things I'm interested in because I'm a dork. Probably why there's less of a structure but I want to write something more than "wow fuck guys I have some opinions so let me SCREAM AT YOU OMG". So generally, I think of something, I write a lot about it, and then I hope it gives you something nice to think about.

But here's were I break from that for a few moments for a like real life update. The girl behind the paragraphs of blahblahblah.

I recently quit my job. It was around the time I started this blog because I had adsense from running a small beauty and art YouTube channel and so any extra income was great and also for the aforementioned "I want to write things on a slightly more professional and in depth level for those interested in reading them". My job was crappy and I was there for over a year when a lot of drama happened and it got to the point where I couldn't sit by while someone made racist and misogynist commentary while sexually harassing all the female employees. I was this person's main sexual harassment target and when he started advocating that men abuse women, I became super uncomfortable and kept getting sick from just the terror of it. I can probably explain why it effected me how it did in another post but lets just say I have an unhappy past and this person was causing me to now relive certain events every day at work. I ended up getting a bad injury so fuck it. I quit. And I've been job hunting for a few weeks now.

I want to be an animator and I'm writing a comic right now actually. I have a lot of concept art and notes just everywhere. But my degree is in film and where I live doesn't have many opportunities for me. I don't have the money to move to anywhere extravagant, though I hope to go to Toronto after graduate school. But I'd really like to be a storyboard artist. I really like shows like Steven Universe and Adventure Time right now, and I'd love to draw for them. And I do a lot of character designs in my free time. Also I write a lot.

So I'm kinda sad that for now, I'm just looking for jobs doing like data entry where I can not get worn out and have energy to come home and draw and have the money to buy things and save for EVENTUAL SCHOOL. I'm pretty blue about the whole thing because it feels impossible. I'm really skiddish when it comes to promoting myself and my work. I'll post speedpaints on youtube and use a hundred tags on tumblr and instagram but it makes me uncomfortable and I wonder if its even worth the effort. But, unfortunately, even if its NOT worth the effort I'll still do it. I can't  be stopped.

So that's life right now. I have a lot of movies I'm trying to see for a few more minis and I wanna write more on Game of Thrones, and I have a lot of gaming things lined up but I'm not sure about how to approach those. And I have two more books I want to write in depth on because I think they're super worth reading and yeah. Idk. That's really all. Hey.

Monday, August 10, 2015

A Sci Fi Review: The Day the Earth Stood Still DOUBLE

Science fiction has been a staple of my life for as far back as I can remember. Star Wars was my childhood and since my parents thought the prequels were silly cash grabs, really only the original trilogy was part of my life until the premiere of the final of the prequels, so I got lucky there. But yeah, space and things coming from space really interested me because I came from a crazy religious family who didn't believe in aliens or the big bang or any of that. One of the most terrifying episodes of The Twilight Zone to me was "To Serve Man". My dad thought if I liked that episode so much (for though it scared me, I was also drawn to the horror of it, kinda like with dinosaurs) and since I was ENAMORED HARD CORE with Invasion of the Body Snatchers, well I would certainly like the film "The Day the Earth Stood Still". And that I did. I remember being unsure if the electricity ceased because the earth stopped spinning or what really as a kind so that kinda freaked me out, but it was held in a high place in my heart for all of these years.

It starts when Klaatu lands his space saucer in a park in Washington DC. While attempting to present peaceful terms, he is shot and wounded by the US military, a sign of what is to come. Klaatu's guard robot, Gort, arrives and gets rid of all the weapons with his energy beam to make the ordeal safer for everyone. Klaatu is taken to the hospital where the President's secretary interrogates him and informs Klaatu that due to the cold war, a meeting of world leaders cannot occur and peace is not a foreseeable option, despite the fact that Klaatu believes otherwise and insists that the message he brings is one to benefit and to be taken into consideration by the entire world, not just one nation. Not understanding this attitude of mistrust, he wishes to walk among the people and understand human life, but the government refuses. So Klaatu adopts the guise of "Mr. Carpenter" as he escapes government custody and moves into a boarding house.

Young Bobby really intrigues the charismatic and curious Mr. Carpenter. Carpenter offers to babysit Bobby while his mother, Helen, goes on a date. Bobby shows Carpenter around and they eat ice cream and Bobby shows him his father's grave and explains about the World Wars, and they have a splendid time. Bobby shows a lot of interest in the mysterious spaceman that has now disappeared in the city and Carpenter assures Bobby that the spaceman is only here for good reasons and maybe he just wanted to have a nice time. They visit a scientist and after Carpenter helps the absent scientist to solve an equation, government agents come for Mr. Carpenter in the night. They bring him to the scientist who believes that Carpenter is Klaatu the spaceman and that his message that Earth needs to seek peace or else be eliminated by higher powers is of the highest importance.

The dichotomy between the nature of man in war time versus the call for peace becomes more and more tense as the manhunt for Klaatu increases. Eventually we get to the pivotal scene where Klaatu stops all electricity on Earth, save for anywhere that would compromise safety like hospitals and airports, to show both his seriousness and his care for human life. Once the electricity is brought back, Klaatu is gunned down and Helen delivers a special message for Gort; "Klaatu barada nikto". Gort temporarily brings Klaatu back to life and with everyone, including the top scientists since political leaders wouldn't get over themselves to listen, present, the Earth stands still as Klaatu tells them that their warring, violent ways and their discovery of atomic power for weaponization is dangerous and that they need to beware and if they let their wars get out into space towards the other planets, then the otherwise peaceful planets will eliminate them.

This is a powerful story of someone who sees and is repeatedly confronted with the cruelty of humans, but is determined to not only understand but to give them a chance and a warning to change, and even goes about seeking the right people to do this. The fact that this was written in the time of Cold War was monumental as well, as it was a call for peace and rational thinking in a world gone absolutely mad.

So of course they decided to fuck it up in 2008.



The Day the Earth Stood Still, in 2008, was remade into a disaster drama staring the man who should have been cast as the robot Gort instead, Keanu Reeves. This convoluted  storm of CGI testing with a marketable name tacked onto it bombeb at the box office and was even Razzie nominated, though it lost to the 4th Indiana Jones film that TOTALLYNEVERHAPPENEDSHUTUP.

For some reason, we start with Keanu Reeves climbing a mountain and touching a glowing sphere that takes his DNA and fucks right off. Okay. Sure. Then it just decides to shift to present day where a strange object is heading towards New York City and is going to kill everyone and there's no time to evaculate, however there is time to abduct a small army of scientist people and take them somewhere safe so that they can...talk about how they can't do anything. However, instead of the object crashing into the city and ending this movie, it slows down and gently lands in Central Park. Out steps......something freaky! And so the army shoots it. And then Gort the robot comes out and disables all the weapons before the alien tells him to be calm with "Klaatu barada nikto" (the phrase used to inform Gort that Klaatu was dead and needed to be found and revived so...okay).  The alien is taken to the hospital where they decided to try out their new special effects in terms of body horror, having the alien shed pounds of dripping flesh to reveal a slowly forming replica of Keanu Reeves from the mountain climbing scene.

It starts to follow the original. Klaatu informs the President's secretary that he needs to speak to the UN,  she says no because they said no in the original despite the fact that the UN building isn't that far from where he even landed, and since there's no Cold War in 2008 like really the reps can just fly in asap and meet with him tomorrow. But nah. And then they try to sedate Klaatu and he enacts violence to escape....wait what? Klaatu is a pacifist... but in this version he Man of Steel's his way through harming people. He's rescued by the doctor from earlier who refused to sedate him, Helen, and her son Jacob (in one of Jaden Smith's 2 good roles). Jacob thinks they should kill the alien because his dad was in the army and he would kill the alien because you have to kill those who are different from you! Yeah! Keanu Reeves, I would say tries to not make the situation more awkward but he just automatically makes it so by being Keanu Reeves. In fact, since he harms so many people and cares so little about humanity, I've decided he is not Klaatu. I'm going to just call him Keanu. Keanu goes to a product placement I mean McDonalds to talk with a random chinese gentleman who apparently is also an alien who has spent 70 years on Earth and has decided that humans will never change and are only capable of destruction. So Keanu decides that's good enough and decided that humanity should be erased for Earth's on protection. Spheres just start appearing around the world to start a small arc of animals before the nanobots from Agent Cody Banks are unleashed and start to eliminate humanity. Helen and Jacob try to change Keanu's mind and when they eventually do, Keanu tells them that to live, they must pay the price, and he sacrifices himself to end the nanobots and his sphere flies away, leaving Earth apparently unable to use electricity....because that's actually something you can do...(no).

This is a complete departure from the ideals of the original. While the concept of "humanity should peruse peace" is still kinda there, the entire fact that Klaatu comes from a place of peace who only desires peace and strives to maintain peace is wiped away. This movie is just about punishment and devastation. And I consider Klaatu's two biggest sins to be a large part of the downfall to this. He never desires to know and understand humanity. He does not approach this with the charismatic optimism of someone who cares and loves. And he eliminates electricity, which while Klaatu did to gain attention, he ensured that he left it on in places that might lead to harming a human. Keanu has effectively killed everyone in flight and in a hospital. Thanks, asshole. Even if it is just a "reimagining", you'd think you'd imagine the parts that were effective and meaningful to remain. Updating the story for a modern audience could have been extremely effective, but that is not what happened. We got a story of peace bastardized into a a story of threats and tragedy.

Saturday, August 8, 2015

Becoming a Better Artist

This isn't the blog I wanted to write today. But someone distracted me while I was outlining my SciFi movie essay so I'm still not done, but hopefully that will be something that interests you guys. For the meantime, I've started following some really cool blogs and I noticed that some of you draw. I started as a fine artist and I majored in film making when I went to college, but what I could never do was draw the things in me head, or draw digitally like in photoshop and everything. Holy crap was I always bummed out that I just couldn't do it. I thought I was broken and stupid. But you know...it was something I wanted to do and I decided if I sucked, then I sucked but I was still going to do it. So I draw. Often. Always trying to figure out a style. And well... let me just post some things I guess.







The first 6 are self portraits. 1. Is from 2013 before I graduated. 2. is from mid 2014. (there were way more in between but i can't find the files because I'm messy when it comes to saving things in the right location) 3. is from maybe this Feb, and 5. was around March of this year, trying a new style (it wont fit right unless its in that spot hence the break in order). So 4 is from April and 6 is from May, roughly. I started trying new styles and techniques to draw something I was familiar with, my own face! I used new brushes for each image. A new style. And just general ass busting drawing other things. It took time and effort and dedication. And finally, we get the fine piece. The first image from a comic I'm writing.The first thing I've ever made that I feel represents my traditional art and is worthy of print. And getting HER done was no easy feat. I have tons and tons of sketches of her that I've been doing for months in different styles similar to my portraits and just always trying something new over and over again. 
Whether you like my style or not is completely up to you. I'm not happy with some of the results, but you can see the improvement. And that's the point. Keep going and you WILL improve. Pick something you're familiar with and apply new ideas as you draw it each time, and you will learn and get better, then apply that to other things. And just keep going. I'm by no means a digital art pro. I'm a swell painter and portrait artist, and this has always baffled me and I have miles and miles to go before I'm really truly worth a damn. But you have to practice, and I promise, just draw something today, and keep working to improve with the next and the next, and in a few months, or maybe a year if you want to see it be a drastic change, you will see a difference. 
For art tips that really helped me through the years, I recommend the youtube channels Drawing With Jazza and Sycra.
If you wanna see more of my nonsense art, I have an artist page here.

Thursday, August 6, 2015

The Gallows Mini

The Gallows follows a group of uninteresting teens with video cameras as they wander a school at night for reasons you don't care about and proceed to be terrified by rope.
And that's being kind.
My first major beef with this farce is WHY. DID. A. HIGH. SCHOOL. PLAY. CONSTRUCT. ACTUAL. FUNCTIONING. GALLOWS. AND. THEN. PUT. A. ROPE. AROUND. A. CHILD'S. NECK. ?????????????
Why? Seriously, this is more improbable than the ghosts. This is how you know instantly that it's fiction, aside from the fact that you're watching a mass distributed film of kids dying. This doesn't happen.
After that, you have kids whose names you'll soon forget do things for reasons you're supposed to care about again, like Unfriended, we don't know these kids or have reason to care about them and their social connections. There's a tiny bit of chemistry between the two leads in the play but that's really all. The rest is just over and hour of kids screaming in the dark with shaky cam, and every now and then it gets quiet and you get a jump scare that's more of a gentle startle and nothing too intense. The boy who needlessly died because some over zealous set builder built actual fuckin' gallows and hung the kid just appears as a shadow moving blurrily, scaring the teens by ominously laying out rope and every now and then, hanging one of them.
This was an absolute waste of time. It exhibits so little effort, it's embarrassing. This is something an average teen could make with 2 cameras and permission to film at their school with their friends. And yet this has a wide release and struggling artists who put thought and care into their work are stuck bagging groceries while these hack frauds scare people with goddamn rope.



Wednesday, August 5, 2015

Deadpool Don'ts!

So with the final release of the trailers for one of the coolest, uh, can we say superhero? ...Marvel Masked Entity with Questionable Morales, I thought I'd go through two of my least favourite Deadpool related comic series as I'm now finding this as an acceptable excuse to put aside what I'm currently reading and reread some old comics.

The first series does not exactly feature Deadpool, but it is still considered part of the series because the character in question was actually a replacement for Deadpool for a little while. Yes, "Agent X", the classic series that started in 2002. Now, 2002 saw a large trend in America. Adult Swim was becoming a late night hit, kicking off its run with more niche anime like the first broadcast of Cowboy Bebop, and eventually the premiere of InuYasha's English dub. The building popularity of gritty anime left an unfortunate impact on Agent X. While dips into other art styles and including non-American cultures was not a foreign (heh) concept to comics, Agent X just looks...stupid. The company behind this was UDON Entertainment, who not surprisingly work wit manga and manhwa.

What are the negative effects of this? Well...the art for one. Sandi, Deadpools secratary, has hair oddly similar to Aeris and breasts like Tifa, both of Final Fantasy VII fame. Other characters are equally goofy, sporty way too large shiny eyes, and spiky dramatic hair styles that would make Maester Seymore proud. The faux-anime art style clashes with the incredibly dull colours that make up the comic. It favours browns, grays, and navys, while the actual Deadpool series is bright and vivid, making use of bold primary colours. Another bad area the comic slips into is white-washing. Agent X goes by the name "Alex Hayden" but apparently is also named "Nijo Minamiyori". It feels incredibly Marty-Stu and reminds me of all those MySpace kids who had profiles saying "Hi my name is Zach Kuwabara Neko Gintama but my friends call me Vash or Kuro Lestat". Stop. But this isn't the only case of "this random white dude is secretly Japanese". Nope, most of the villains are white guys with Japanese names. The main offender is "Saguri", a woman with magenta hair and green eyes, wearing a traditional Chinese dress, wielding a samurai sword and using phrasing like "respectfully" and "___-sama". Basically a weeaboo Sansa Stark. Her boss, Higashi, is a Japanese crime lord who for some reason has facial tattoos. See, the thing about the Japanese gangster mentality and tattoos... Yakuza get full body tattoos that can be hidden under office attire. I've never seen one with extensive facial tattoos. Especially since they get them done in the traditional method of Japanese tattooing, I don't even think you can get a head tattoo! This comic screams of a sudden addition of perceived Japanese culture for edginess. While it's not to an offensive level, it's really annoying and makes the creators look amazingly stupid.

The story is weak in itself, having the Deadpool knock-off having a ridiculously endless arsenal of resistance level superpowers that would instantly get him thrown out of an RPG for "god-moding"and being essentially a crime syndicate story mixed with "you absorbed his powers and memories" level stunts. Eventually, the series was canceled and ended with Deadpool just returning to save the day and run the Agent X industry that was created to replace him and the drama with his licence. It's a boring run in the series that is briefly joked about elsewhere in Deadpool's various comics, and is really not worth your time or effort at all.




The next one I'm going to trash is actually a little bit on the popular side. It's Cable and Deadpool, another unfortunate cum dumpster for Rob Liedfeld. You know you've done something wrong when your most notable work is Youngbloods. His artistic ineptitude has ruined countless comics, and this one is no exception, except that this one also has the unfortunate addition of being not amusing at all.

I'm serious, the story is just completely uninteresting! It starts off with a cult that wants to turn everyone blue. And while its ripe with stupidity like that, Deadpool is also missing a lot of his wit. I remember that this was the first Deadpool series that I read and I hated it. People told me Deadpool was such a classic and he was witty and hilarious. But none of that translates into this series. It is a slog to get through and while it's only 50 issues, it feels like I'm reading Dune.

I suppose I have less to say on the story than I did Agent X because I read Cable and Deadpool a while back and I have no desire to do so again. I'm unsure of if I even finished the series or if I just skipped through to the end so I could go back to X-Men. Even articles going through the history of Deadpool don't linger long on this series. It's an unfunny disappointment.

I really recommend the Deadpool titles by Joel Kelly. I'm going back through those now, and they are everything you expect Deadpool to be. It's witty, funny, and startlingly brutal, with plenty of meta jokes to go around. And don't for Deadpool Kills the Marvel Universe and Killustrated!



Despite my capture services botching the process, I have managed to do my first semi-successful speedpaint from recording my Cintiq screen! I've fixed the recording problem for future pieces but for now, this isn't half bad! I'm working really hard on learning the best ways to paint with this, with hopes of doing fanarts and stuff for conventions :]

This of course, is Ayanami Rei from one of my favourite animes, Neon Genesis Evangelion. I'm super happy about it so far! I'm going to be making more to document not only my growth but to show my talents and hope that I can help and inspire other artists.

My 2 weekly longer articles are on their way. I've had a hectic week so far.

Saturday, August 1, 2015

Unfriended Mini

So I finally got around to seeing Unfriended and I am pretty much as unimpressed as I figured I would be. It may have been really pointless to sit through it, because it turned out to be exactly what I figured that I would be, but I generally have a problem with flinging hate at something that I haven't given a chance.

All in all, I wouldn't recommend this film in the slightest. But I do have a teeny bit of praise to throw at it. I do think it is interesting to limit the storytelling to a computer screen. It makes it a bit claustrophobic because you just have this overall static screen that you can't get away from. What you can show and do with your characters is considerably restrained, so while some people can say that this was just lazy to have people sit there in front of a screen, it's clear that a lot of thought had to go into trying to figure out how to present traditional horror tropes within those confines. While some parts got rather contrived and stupid, for the most part I thought it pulled things off rather well.  

The rest of the movie, well, sucks. We aren't given the chance to know or care about the character as it wants to just get on with the killing. But the teenaged drama in just insufferable and it's unclear what emotions we are supposed to be feeling. Do I feel sad that they die? Do I feel scandalized by their betrayals of each other? Do I feel happy that the ghost killed everyone? I just don't know!