Thursday, August 6, 2015

The Gallows Mini

The Gallows follows a group of uninteresting teens with video cameras as they wander a school at night for reasons you don't care about and proceed to be terrified by rope.
And that's being kind.
My first major beef with this farce is WHY. DID. A. HIGH. SCHOOL. PLAY. CONSTRUCT. ACTUAL. FUNCTIONING. GALLOWS. AND. THEN. PUT. A. ROPE. AROUND. A. CHILD'S. NECK. ?????????????
Why? Seriously, this is more improbable than the ghosts. This is how you know instantly that it's fiction, aside from the fact that you're watching a mass distributed film of kids dying. This doesn't happen.
After that, you have kids whose names you'll soon forget do things for reasons you're supposed to care about again, like Unfriended, we don't know these kids or have reason to care about them and their social connections. There's a tiny bit of chemistry between the two leads in the play but that's really all. The rest is just over and hour of kids screaming in the dark with shaky cam, and every now and then it gets quiet and you get a jump scare that's more of a gentle startle and nothing too intense. The boy who needlessly died because some over zealous set builder built actual fuckin' gallows and hung the kid just appears as a shadow moving blurrily, scaring the teens by ominously laying out rope and every now and then, hanging one of them.
This was an absolute waste of time. It exhibits so little effort, it's embarrassing. This is something an average teen could make with 2 cameras and permission to film at their school with their friends. And yet this has a wide release and struggling artists who put thought and care into their work are stuck bagging groceries while these hack frauds scare people with goddamn rope.



9 comments:

  1. I saw this when it came out. Just because it was the only new horror movie released near where I am. Such an utter disappointment.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It's been really the only one this summer because they're holding off for August and September now. I hear "The Gift" is actually very creepy and extremely well acted and written. The trailers make it look more like a drama thriller but apparently its more of a horror film. I think another Paranormal Activity is out this month and the M. Night grandparents house found footage horror movie is out on 9/11 which is a bit awkward.

      Delete
    2. I used to love Paranormal Activity. I still defend the first and second films futilely to everyone who will listen. The new one looks like such a piece of shit I'm basically in gallows humor mode. I've made my girlfriend promise to see it with me, because I'm convinced it'll just be hilariously bad, especially when the trailer referenced something that never happened in the third movie. Looks great.

      Delete
    3. I'm not a jump scare person, but I do like the lore of PA. For the first 2.5.. some of the 3rd one was interesting to me. After that it was just so...contrived. The Gallows is funnier and funnier to me every time I have to explain the "spooky rope" to people.

      Delete
    4. I saw the Mexican sequel to PA: The Marked Ones. I think that was my favorite in terms of pointless sequels, because it had exactly ZERO relation to the original.

      Delete
    5. I heard that was hilarious! I wanna see these at some point but also...like...ehh... I just don't like the demon face and the jumpy parts and like... the filler story. A friend of mine saw the third one in the cinema and said that people just talked during the non ghost parts and then they'd get quiet for the jump scares, scream, and the resume discussions. Wtf!? I'm glad The Conjuring took this craze and ran with it.

      Delete
    6. The Conjuring was fine but I was so let down by Annabelle. Pretty much tooj the best part of the Conjuring and ruined it.

      Delete
    7. Yeah...they used the wrong doll and had an iteration of the Insidious demon

      Delete
    8. Yeah...they used the wrong doll and had an iteration of the Insidious demon

      Delete