So I finally got around to seeing Unfriended and I am pretty much as unimpressed as I figured I would be. It may have been really pointless to sit through it, because it turned out to be exactly what I figured that I would be, but I generally have a problem with flinging hate at something that I haven't given a chance.
All in all, I wouldn't recommend this film in the slightest. But I do have a teeny bit of praise to throw at it. I do think it is interesting to limit the storytelling to a computer screen. It makes it a bit claustrophobic because you just have this overall static screen that you can't get away from. What you can show and do with your characters is considerably restrained, so while some people can say that this was just lazy to have people sit there in front of a screen, it's clear that a lot of thought had to go into trying to figure out how to present traditional horror tropes within those confines. While some parts got rather contrived and stupid, for the most part I thought it pulled things off rather well.
The rest of the movie, well, sucks. We aren't given the chance to know or care about the character as it wants to just get on with the killing. But the teenaged drama in just insufferable and it's unclear what emotions we are supposed to be feeling. Do I feel sad that they die? Do I feel scandalized by their betrayals of each other? Do I feel happy that the ghost killed everyone? I just don't know!
I was halfheartedly wanting to see this one because I haven't seen a newly released horror flick in ages. Not worth it then?
ReplyDeleteNot at all. I do however suggest "It Follows" and if you're okay with slow burn body horror flicks, "Spring" is also fantastic.
DeleteI loved It Follows so hard. Saw it with my girlfriend and I was creeped out by people walking behind me on the sidewalk for ages.
DeleteUnfriended was pretty underwhelming besides the cool format. I agree that the teen drama was horrible. I personally felt ok with the friends being killed. I thought it would have been a better revenge for the main character to live with the knowledge that everyone knows all her dirty secrets.
ReplyDeleteYeah I mean then it would have had one potentially devastating factor to it. "You all have to live with this" but now it's like "lol now you can die with no secrets!"... Well that's not so bad. Geez. Lesson learned? How? They're dead and can't reflect on what they've done?
Delete