Monday, August 24, 2015

MTG: The Quest for the Perfect Deck!

I've been playing Magic for several years now. I suck ass at it, but I love it. My best friend is super into it, and always wanted me to learn it someday so we could play. So once he moved away, I started learning how to play so that when we visited, I could surprise him!

But even so, my decks always suck. I got the Gatecrash box and we put together an okay deck from that. But I don't have a theme. So, I've been tossing around some ideas.


  • BEARS
  • Vampires...unsure of red/black or mono black. But I feel as though it's cliched. I didn't like the zombie decks though and I like NORMAL non sparkly vampires. We'll see.
  • Dragons! But then I found out there were 8 billion dragon decks and the cards get rather pricey... 
  • Game of Thrones deck! Like if I can't do just dragons then maybe dragons and soldier type things. Still...still working that out..because it seems pretty stupid.
  • Elf deck. For Legolas and his elf eyes.
  • Leviathan deck. The problem is that a lot of sample decks I find are really lame and I don't like the cards. I'm really into Kaiju and Lovecraftian spooklies so...idk.
  • Mermaid deck. Is this possible? IDK. I actually haven't checked. But I'm fond of blue or green decks so it's no something I wouldn't use.
  • Angels and Demons deck. For all my cliched unholiness.

  • GOAT DECK BECAUSE THATS A THING I CAN JUST HAVE GOATS. FUCK YOU. GOAT ATTACK.

So now that I'm employed. Again. For now. Hopefully for a while. Uh, hopefully in a bit I can have the money to really go for some cards and make a sweet deck. Meanwhile, my best friend is using his new teacher's salary to replace his decks with holographic cards only. He's so crazy and amazing. I hate playing with his decks because he knows exactly which card I'm playing based on how much mana I tap, and I feel so lame losing to him time after time. I can beat other people just fine! I'm not bad. But against someone who is like...God tier in the MTG world... I just pale in comparison Q___Q 





3 comments:

  1. Those are some cool ideas. What format do you guys usual play? I'm a big fan of Commander and I have a pretty good white angel deck. I also have a green/blue smashy face deck with a focus on krakens and leviathans.

    Red/black vampires are strong, especially in the Innistrad block. Olivia Voldaren and Stromkirk Noble are really good. Let me know if you want some help putting something together. :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Constructed I think it's called? Krakens and Leviathans are something I super want to do, for liek Lovecraft or Kaiju themes. I'm still on the fence about the vampires though because it feels like so many people have those. Those and dragons. I don't want to be just another person with the saaaame deck as everyone else.

      Delete
    2. Sorry I didn't see this comment before! Constructed is broad. It can include modern, commander, legacy, standard, etc. Krakens and leviathans are awesome, but expensive to cast. That's why it's good to pair with green for mana acceleration. The new set Battle for Zendikar just came out and has a new Kiora card and octopi.

      Delete